Pretty new sundress

This is a fairly simple refashion from an old long tunic top passed on to me that was pretty, and i could have worn as a dress as it was (after maybe taking in the arm holes a little!) but it was a bit too big and not quite the right style for me

IMG_2827 IMG_2829

I used to have a cute pink tie-dyed strappy sundress, which i wore absolutely to death a few years ago, and the recent hot weather means there is more opportunity to wear little sun dresses than we normally get in england! (Sadly a couple of days ago it started raining again, but at least it’s still quite warm!) So i decided that’s what i would do with this top. I used a dress that fits me well, in a similarly stretchy type of fabric, as a pattern.IMG_2830

I folded both the top and the dress in half, and used the dress to cut the pieces from the top for my new dress. I basically cut two ‘front’ style pieces to start with, then cut the back one straight across at the top. I kept the beaded bottom hem of the original top as i thought it would be a shame to waste it! I didn’t need to add any length as the top had started off slightly longer than my dress.

I used the offcut pieces from the sides of the top to make binding for the front edges (i just folded over and hemmed the straight edge of the back of the dress) and for the straps. I was surprised at how little time it took me to make – about half an hour in total. Boom! new sun dress. Now all i need is for it to stop raining! stupid english weather! :p

IMG_2831

Much better! :)

Leave a comment